Department of Customer Services

Motor Vehicle REGISTRATION

All vehicles in Hawaii must be registered and those registration records must be updated annually.

All vehicles on Oahu are required to have a valid Registration, Certificate of Title, and State of Hawaii Safety Inspection Certificate. 

Annual fees are based on the vehicle weight and usage. They are computed by the Division of Motor Vehicles, Licensing and Permits. You may calculate the fees that will be charged by visiting the Honolulu Motor Vehicle Fee Inquiry site at: https://mvinquiry.hnl.info/

The deadline for registering vehicles is the last working day of the expiration month of the current registration. However, if the registration expiration date occurs on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the delinquent renewal penalty fee will not be charged until after the next working day.

A penalty will be assessed if fees are not paid on or before the expiration date. The penalty shall be an annual flat rate of $16.00 ($8.00-County Weight Tax penalty and $8.00-State Weight Tax penalty) for the passenger rate and $40.00 ($20.00-County Weight Tax penalty and $20.00
State Weight Tax penalty) for the commercial rate.

Make checks payable to: City and County of Honolulu. Proof of Hawaii motor vehicle insurance is required to obtain a vehicle inspection, and the vehicle inspection sticker and certificate are necessary to operate a vehicle on all Hawaii roads and for all vehicle ownership registration transactions.

Non-resident active duty military personnel must submit a properly completed Non-Resident Certificate, Form CS-L (MVR) 50*, for each registration, renewal or transfer transaction.

Hawaii residents on active duty and members of the National Guard and Reserve and who are assigned to units located in Hawaii are exempt from motor vehicle weight taxes for one vehicle registered in their name. You must submit a properly completed Hawaii Resident Certificate, Form CS-L (MVR)50A, for each registration, renewal or transfer transaction.

*Form CS-L (MVR) 50 and Form CS-L (MVR)50A is available from your military personnel office or your military unit.

For members of the military with access to the office located on Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam, motor vehicle registration appointments must be scheduled online. Please click here to make your appointment using our online scheduling system.

When you buy a new vehicle on Oahu, the dealer will probably have it registered and licensed for you. But if this service is not provided, this is what you must do:

  • Fill out an Application for Registration, Form CS-L (MVR) 1, which must be signed by you, the registered owner(s) and countersigned by a licensed Oahu vehicle dealer. The form is available from the dealer or at a satellite city hall.
  • Submit a current Hawaii Vehicle Inspection Certificate.
  • If you are an active duty service member stationed in Hawaii and a non-resident of this state, you must submit the Non-Resident Certificate, Form CS-L (MVR) 50, available from your military personnel office or your military unit.

    The required fees will be determined by vehicle registration or Satellite City Hall personnel.

There are four ways to renew a Hawaii Motor Vehicle Registration:

Hawaii DMV Now Kiosk
Use one of the Hawaii DMV Now Kiosks located inside certain Safeway and Foodland stores to quickly and securely renew your vehicle registration − provided your City and County of Honolulu address is correct and no supplemental forms are required (safety inspection certificate, location certificate, CS-L (MV) 50 or 50A, etc.). The kiosk will print out your new registration card and license plate emblem immediately after you pay for your renewal.

DMV Now kiosks accept only credit and debit card payments (VISA, Mastercard, or Discover). A 2.5 % credit/debit card service fee and $4 remote transaction fee are applied to each transaction. For Hawaii DMV Now Kiosk locations on Oahu, click HERE.

Online
Online registration renewal is available provided your City and County of Honolulu address is correct and no supplemental forms are required (safety inspection certificate, location certificate, CS-L (MV) 50 or 50A, etc.).

    • Only credit and debit cards (VISA, Mastercard, or Discover) are accepted for online registration renewal payment.
    • Effective Nov. 16, 2022, motorists are required to pay the 2.35% credit/debit card service fee assessed by financial institutions when renewing a vehicle registration online.
    •  To renew your vehicle registration online and for more information, go to Honolulu’s Online Vehicle Registration Renewal System.
    • A new registration certificate and license plate emblem will be mailed within 10 working days.

Mail
Renew by mail with check or money order made payable to “City and County of Honolulu.” Follow instructions on your Motor Vehicle Registration Renewal notice and mail to:

Department of Customer Services
Division of Motor Vehicle, Licensing and Permits
P.O. Box 30320
Honolulu, HI 96820-0320

In person at any satellite city hall
Renewal at a satellite city hall location is an express window transaction.  Accepted forms payment for in-person transactions:

    • Cash
    • Check (drawn on U.S. funds), money order, traveler’s check, or cashier’s check. There is a $25.00 service fee for returned checks.
    • Credit or debit card (VISA, MasterCard, or Discover), with a 2.35% credit/debit card service fee added.

Annual fees based on the vehicle weight and usage. Please click here to calculate the fees.

For additional information on electric vehicle registration requirements, click here.

Within 30 days of the arrival of the vehicle on Oahu, the vehicle must obtain with either an out-of-state permit or a Hawaii vehicle registration. Here are the steps to take:

  1. Take your vehicle to any official Hawaii Safety Inspection Station:
    a)  If your vehicle passes all other items on the safety inspection, it will fail on valid registration in the City and County of Honolulu.
    b)  If other defects are found, the defects must be corrected before you register the vehicle.
  2. Take your vehicle documentation and “failed” safety inspection to any satellite city hall on Oahu or the vehicle registration office at Joint Base Pearl Harbor Hickam:
    a)  An AlohaQ appointment is required for vehicle registration services at satellite city halls. Limited stand by service is available at all locations, but same day service is not guaranteed.
    b)  Appointments are required at the JBPHH vehicle registration office and this office
    accepts only checks or cash payments.
  3. If you plan to keep your out-of-state plates, you will need the following:
    a)  Valid out-of-state registration, title/lien holders address.
    b)  Shipping documents (Bill of Lading) with vehicle identification number (VIN).
    c)  Out-of-state permit application form CS-L (MVR) 27, which will be available at the satellite city hall or motor vehicle registration office.
    d)  “Failed” Hawaii Safety Inspection Certificate.
    e)  After you get your out of state permit, you will need to return to the Hawaii Safety Inspection Station within 30 days of the original “failed” safety check, to pass the safety inspection and get your valid safety inspection emblem and certificate.
  4. If you plan to register your vehicle and get Hawaii license plates you will need the following documents:
    a)  Current out-of-state registration, title/lien holders address.
    b)  Shipping documents (Bill of Lading) with vehicle identification number (VIN).
    c)  Non-Resident Certificate for Active Duty, Reserve, or National Guard service members, form CS-L (MVR) 50, which is available from your military unit or military personnel office.
    d)  “Failed” Hawaii Safety Inspection Certificate.
    e)  After you register your vehicle in the City and County of Honolulu and receive your license plates, you will need to return to the Hawaii Safety Inspection Station within 30 days of the original “failed” safety check, to get your valid safety inspection emblem and certificate.
    f)  Please note that Hawaii requires two license plates on vehicle’s the license plate with the emblem space in the upper right hand corner goes on the rear of the vehicle, and the other license plates must be affixed to the front of the vehicle before you return to the Safety Inspection Station.

There is no cost to replace a lost, stolen or mutilated certification of motor vehicle registration.

The registered owner of record can apply in person with valid ID at any satellite city hall. The CS-L(MVR) 5 form is NOT required if applying in person.

Or, complete an Application for Duplicate Motor Vehicle Certificate of Registration form CS-L(MVR) 5 and mail to:
Department of Customer Services
Motor Vehicle, Licensing and Permits Division
P.O. Box 30330
Honolulu, HI 96820

For information on registering a moped, click here.

If your vehicle registration cannot be completed due to back taxes and late fees or other title issues, you may file an appeal with the Oahu First Circuit District Court.

Appeals to the First Circuit District Court are accepted for the following circumstances:

  • Waive back taxes and late fees for late vehicle registrations
  • Approval to process registration / title transfers when required signatures are missing or a defect in the transfer (e.g., no title available and unable to locate owner of record)
  • Approval to process Out-of-State title transfers (missing or unavailable out-of-state titles and/or original state unable to provide duplicate titles)
  • Missing title circumstances
        a. Unable to locate seller (or seller is deceased) but new owner has title and purchase agreement or a receipt of the sale or document turning over vehicle to new owner
        b. Titles are defaced and unable to locate seller to obtain duplicate title

This is the process to follow:

  • Appeals are processed through First Circuit District Court, 1111 Alakea St., 3rd Floor, Honolulu, HI 96813
  • Seek the Hookele Service Center, telephone (808) 538-5629
  • See court staff at the counter and he/she will assist to:
    1. Pick up Notice of Appeal Packet for each issue and complete
    2. Setup hearing dates and times
    3. Be prepared to pay the filing fee for each issue
    4. Customer is required to be on time for the hearing, if late, judge may dismiss the case.
  • Upon court’s judgement, MVR will execute the transaction via the court order
Skip to content