Department of Customer Services

Moped Registration

Act 200 of the Hawaii Session Laws of 2016 eliminated permanent moped registration and requires annual registration and safety inspection of all mopeds.

I want to...

Moped dealers will have you complete an application to register the moped.  If the dealers are not certified safety inspection stations, they will provide you with additional instructions. The dealer submits the appropriate documents and fees for registering a new moped to the City and County of Honolulu moped registration office.

At the time of purchase, the dealer will provide you with a copy of the completed application and Certificate of Inspection (safety inspection). You must keep the two documents – the completed application and Certificate of Inspection – with you when operating the moped until you receive the registration, license plate and emblem sticker in the mail.

At the time of purchase, the dealer will provide you with a copy of the completed application and Certificate of Inspection (safety inspection). You must keep the two documents – the completed application and Certificate of Inspection – with you when operating the moped until you receive the registration, license plate and emblem sticker in the mail.

You should receive an annual reminder in the mail to renew the registration approximately 45 days before the expiration date. If you do not receive a renewal notice, you are still required by law to renew your registration prior to the expiration date on your current registration. You must have a current safety inspection on file in order to renew your moped registration.

Moped owners have these options for annual registration renewals:

To receive your registration certificate and new emblem immediately,

To receive your registration certificate and new emblem by mail,

  • Renew at any satellite city hall on Oahu; or
  • Follow instructions on the renewal notice to renew by mail;

Annual safety inspection is required for all mopeds on Oahu. The Hawaii Department of Transportation website maintains an updated list of motorcycle/motor scooter (moped) inspection stations in Hawaii, sorted by county and zip code. Look for the Honolulu County safety inspection stations.

For more information on a moped laws and requirements, please review the MOPED Owners and Drivers document from HI DOT.

When selling or giving a moped to someone else, the seller/registered owner signs line 1 on the Certificate of Registration and indicates the date of sale or release. The buyer/recipient completes lines 2, 3, and 4.

If the seller/registered owner does not have the Certificate of Registration, he or she needs to download, complete, sign and provide the following documents to the buyer/recipient:
  • Form CS-L(SS)35, Application for Duplicate Bicycle/Moped Certificate of Registration, completed and signed by seller/registered owner; and
  • Form CS-L(SS)47, Bicycle/Moped Bill of Sale, completed and signed by the seller/registered owner.
The buyer/recipient must take the completed document(s) noted above to window 17 of the Kapalama Driver Licensing Center or any satellite city hall on Oahu within 30 days of the date of sale/release to transfer ownership, pay the transfer fee, and receive an updated moped registration.
  • An AlohaQ appointment is needed for ownership transfer service.
  • Ownership transfer fee is $5 if completed within 30 days of the date of sale/release.
  • After 30 days, a penalty fee of $10 is added to the $5 transfer fee ($15 total fee).

The seller/registered owner must also submit a completed Form CS-L(SS)215, Bicycle/Moped Notice of Transfer, within 10 days of sale/release; failure to do so can result in a fine of up to $100.

Skip to content