

FACT SHEET

Councilmember Term Limits

Pursuant to Revised Charter of the City and County of Honolulu (RCH), Section 3-102, no person shall be elected to the office of council member for more than two consecutive four year terms.

Councilmembers terms were staggered based upon the number of votes in the 2000 mayoral race. In 2002, the odd numbered council districts were elected to a **TWO-YEAR TERM** and the even numbered districts to a **FOUR-YEAR TERM**.

Council District: Council Member	Year Elected / Year Term Ends (if re- elected)	Notes
District I: Andria Tupola	2020 / 2028	
District II: Matt Weyer	2022 / 2030	
District III: Esther Kiaʻāina	2020 / 2028	
District IV: Tommy Waters	2019 / 2026	Elected on April 13, 2019 in a special election ordered by the Hawaii Supreme Court.
District V: Calvin Say	2020 / 2028	
District VI: Tyler Dos Santos-Tam	2022 / 2030	
District VII: Radiant Cordero	2020 / 2028	
District VIII: Val Okimoto	2022 / 2030	
District IX: Augie Tulba	2020 / 2028	

